SUDBURY -- Greater Sudbury Police Chief Paul Pedersen has been named chair of Cambrian College's board of governors, the college announced this week.

Pedersen has been appointed for the 2020-21 term, replacing Kati McCartney, president of Froskr Corp.

Pedersen, chief since 2014, joined the Cambrian Board in 2015. He has more than 35 years of experience in policing, and holds a Master of Public Administration from Western University. He is a recipient of the Order of Merit of the Police Forces and the Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee medal.

“I am looking forward to leading the college through this next year," Pedersen said in a news release. "There is no doubt that there will be some challenges ahead, as we continue to navigate this global pandemic, but Cambrian is in a great position to succeed ... I am lucky to follow Kati as chair. She was an exceptional leader and I was able to learn so much from her.”

The board also welcomes three new members this year:

• Gianni Grossi, president, Anmar

• Janneke Nicholls, director, facilities management, Cambrian College (internal administrative representative)

• Hayley Hill, advanced care paramedic graduate program (student representative).

“I want to welcome our new members to our board of directors,” Pedersen. “Each of our new governors brings dynamic experience, insight and a unique perspective. We’re looking forward to their contributions to the college.”

New executive

The board’s new executive for this year includes Pedersen, Maureen McLelland (vice chair), Kati McCartney (past chair), Jeanne Naponse (chair of the Circle for Indigenous Education), Jeff Smith (chair, audit committee), and Sonia Del Missier (chair, governance committee).

Other members include Cambrian President Bill Best, Bruce Bichel, Jason Bubba, Philip Potgieter and Jessica Valiquette (internal support staff representative).

The role of the board is to provide Cambrian College with strategic leadership and direction, the release said.

"This includes determining Cambrian’s overall goals and objectives, approving and evaluating the college’s strategic plan, and approving its annual budget."